Ezra Furman, Polar Bear and More for Tramlines’ Folk Forest Stage

UK: Tramlines Festival – one of the UK’s biggest inner city festivals – has announced the line-up for its scenic Folk Forest stage. The latest additions include Chicagoan Ezra Furman, Seb Rochford’s Mercury-nominated experimental jazz band Polar Bear and alt-folk outfit This Is The Kit, amongst others.

Nestled between a river and woodland location in Endcliffe Park, Tramlines’ Folk Forest offers an alternative atmosphere to the rest of the festival site. For the first year, the Folk Forest has become one of the festival’s wristband venues, meaning fans can enjoy an expanded line-up and bigger stage.

Other newly announced acts to play the Folk Forest over the weekend of July 24 – 26 are Ivor Novello award-winner Scott Matthews, Sheffield Americana four-piece The Payroll Union, indie-pop duo Meadowlark and new local folk-rock band Eastern Seaboard Radio Station. The new additions join the likes of GoGo Penguin, Diagrams, Hidden Orchestra and FURS to complete the stage bill.

Festival Director Sarah Nulty said: “After the success of bringing the Cathedral stage into the wristband scheme last year, the Folk Forest stage will also become part of the paid festival. As well as allowing us to ensure that the profile of artists and quality of production can be raised, the move will also support the long-term sustainability of an integral part of Tramlines.”

Now in its seventh year, Tramlines continues to bring genre-spanning acts to Sheffield city centre alongside breaking new talent. Headliners for 2015 include The Charlatans, Basement Jaxx, and Wu Tang Clan, with support from heavyweights Billy Bragg, Buzzcocks, Martha Reeves and Sugarhill Gang.

This year boasts a huge electronic bill featuring Roman Flugel, Erol Alkan, Gilles Peterson, James Holden, Evian Christ and A Guy Called Gerald, and a ton of breaking acts including Slaves, Lonelady, Dutch Uncles, Marika Hackman, Kate Tempest and hundreds more.

For more information, visit Tramlines’ official website.

Header photo credit: Simon Butler