European Festival Awards 2015 – The Shortlists

The votes have been counted and we can now reveal the finalists in this year’s European Festival Awards. This year – the 7th edition – saw over 800,000 votes cast by fans from 50 different European countries for their favourite festivals and artists.

The public-voted accolades see music festivals of all shapes and sizes competing for titles including the Best Major, Medium, Small, New and Indoor Festivals as well as the Line-Up Of The Year. The titles for artists include Headliner Of The Year, Best Newcomer and Anthem Of The Year.

But it’s not just about the public vote – some of the more specialist categories are decided by panels of industry professionals, including: Artists’ Favourite Festival, Green Operations Award, Promoter Of The year and the new Agent Of The Year. This panel also now decides the final winners within the public-voted selections.

The winners will be announced onstage at the European Festival Awards gala ceremony, which returns to crown the opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag in Groningen, The Netherlands on Wednesday January 13 2016.

Steve Jenner, Co-Founder & Director commented: “2015 has been a buoyant year for Europe’s festival market, evidenced by the raft of successful and diverse new events entering the market this year, ranging from the small and intimate Amsterdam Woods to the huge and epic Lollapalooza Berlin. This year’s voting shows that passion for festivals has never been greater and the shortlists portray an exceptionally colourful, creative and vibrant festival landscape that any European should be proud of.”

A limited number of tickets to the event are still available here.

And the shortlists are…

Best Major Festival
In association with Charge Candy

Deichbrand Festival (Germany)
Dour Festival (Belgium)
Exit Festival (Serbia)
Graspop Metal Meeting (Belgium)
Mysteryland (Netherlands)
Pinkpop (Netherlands)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Sziget Festival (Hungary)
Tomorrowland (Belgium)
Untold Festival (Romania)

Best Medium-Sized Festival
In association with Eventbrite

Wish Outdoor (Netherlands)
Telekom Volt Festival (Hungary)
Solar Weekend (Netherlands)
Sea Dance Festival (Montenegro)
Positivus Festival (Latvia)
Open Air St. Gallen (Switzerland)
Main Square Festival (France)
Lovefest (Serbia)
Les Ardentes (Belgium)
Electric Castle Festival (Romania)

Best Small Festival

Amsterdam Woods (Netherlands)
B My Lake (Hungary)
Festival Tauron Nowa Muzyka (Poland)
Happiness Festival (Germany)
Hideout (Croatia)
Into The Great Wide Open (Netherlands)
Jazz In The Park (Romania)
Mini-Rock Festival (Germany)
Plai (Romania)
Vestrock (Netherlands)
Your’In Festival (Belgium)

Best New Festival

Amsterdam Woods (Netherlands)
Creamfields Ibiza (Spain)
I Love Techno Europe (France)
Krakow Live Festival (Poland)
Lollapalooza Berlin (Germany)
Parookaville (Germany)
Untold Festival (Romania)

Best Indoor Festival

Blues In Hell (Norway)
Incubate Festival (Netherlands)
Le Printemps De Bourges (France)
Les Heures Ind (Belgium)
Les Transardentes (Belgium)
Lokerse Feesten (Belgium)
Mayday (Germany)
[Pias Nites] (Various Countries)
Progpower Europe (Netherlands)
TIMAF (Romania)

Festival Anthem Of The Year

Alt-J – Left Hand Free
Florence + The Machine – Ship To Wreck
Hozier – Take Me To Church
Major Lazor – Lean On
Pattie Smith – People Got The Power
Rudimental – Never Let You Go
Tame Impala – Let It happen
The Prodigy – The Day is my Enemy
Wanda – Amore
Years and Years – King

Newcomer Of The Year
In association with Eurosonic Noorderslag

Jack Garratt
James Bay
Kate Tempest
Royal Blood
Run the Jewels
Wolf Alice
Years & Years

Best Headliner

Chemical Brothers
Florence & the Machine
Foo Fighters
Kendrick Lamar
Kylie Minogue
Robbie Williams
The Prodigy

Best Line-Up

Best Kept Secret (Netherlands)
Glastonbury (United Kingdom)
Graspop Metal Meeting (Belgium)
La Route Du Rock (France)
Lollapalooza Berlin (Germany)
Oya Festivalen (Norway)
Primavera Sound Festival (Spain)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Roskilde (Denmark)
Sziget (Hungary)

Artists’ Favourite Festival

BBK Live (Spain)
Best Kept Secret (Netherlands)
Exit Festival (Serbia)
Highfield (Germany)
Latitude (United Kingdom)
Les Viellies Charues (France)
Lowlands (Netherlands)
Pukkelpop (Belgium)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Sziget (Hungary)

Promoter Of The Year
In association with Bucks New University

Green Man Team (United Kingdom)
Ejekt (Greece)
Festival Republic (United Kingdom)
FKP Scorpio (Germany)
Hörstmann Unternehmensgruppe (Germany)
ICS (Germany)
From The Fields (United Kingdom)
Live Nation (United Kingdom)
Live Nation (Belgium)
Primavera (Spain)

Agent of the Year

Emma Banks (CAA)
Alex Bruford (ATC Live)
Isla Angus (Earth Agency)
Jason Edwards (Coda)
Mike Greek (CAA)
Natasha Bent (United Artists)
Nick Matthews (Coda)
Rob Challice (Coda)
Solomon Parker (Coda)
Tom Schroeder (Coda)

Green Operations Award
In association with Yourope and the GO Group

Ieper Hardcore Fest (Belgium)
Off Festival (Poland)
Open Air St. Gallen (Switzerland)
Shambala (United Kingdom)
Tollwood Festival (Germany)

The shortlist of the YES Group Health & Safety Innovation Award will be announced on the night of the award ceremony, along with the winners of the Excellence and Passion Award and the Yourope Lifetime Achievement Award (in association with PlayPass and PayPal).

European Festival Awards