Flow festival and Bright Finland to collaborate on Bright Balloon 360° Stage

FINLAND: Covered by a huge pressurised inflatable, Flow festival’s the Bright Balloon 360° stage will include an interactive screen installed by inside technology specialists Bright Finland.

The Bright Balloon 360° line-up includes a string of international acts such as Mali-based desert blues band Songhoy Blues and Nick Zinner of Yeah Yeah Yeahs fame. Islam Chipsy will deliver a flavour of Egyptian folk music with an electronic edge and J. Karjalainen will step onto the round stage with his one-man Lännen-Jukka show.

Also announced is the young and promising Swedish soul singer Seinabo Sey and U.S.based newcomer Natalie Prass, whose self-titled debut album was released recently. Forever Pavot will rise from the French underground psych scene, as well as Norwegian super-energetic indierockers Kakkmaddafakka.

Finnish acts include blues rock legend, guitarist and singer-songwriter Dave Lindholm, reggae artist Reino Nordin with a band and several guests, singer-songwriter John McGregor together with the drummer-percussionist Samuli Kosminen and guitarist Jarmo Saari, as well as the Räjäyttäjät band’s Jukka Nousiainen with his Jukka & Jytämimmit setup.

Top Finnish jazz will be represented by the Verneri Pohjola Quartet and the Timo Lassy Band. Pohjola is accompanied by pianist Aki Rissanen, bass player Antti Lötjönen, and drummer Teppo Mäkynen. The Timo Lassy Band’s special guests will include trumpeter Jukka Eskola and the biggest promise of Finnish jazz, vibraphonist Panu Savolainen.

Flow Festival’s confirmed partners for 2015 are the main partner Lapin Kulta, media partners Basso, Clear Channel, Helsingin Sanomat / Nyt, and partners American Express, Bright Finland, H&M, Paulig, Stop Teltat, Sun Effects, University of Arts Helsinki and Yellow Tail.

Other confirmed acts for the 2015 Flow Festival Helsinki include Alt-J (UK), Beck (US), Belle and Sebastian (UK), Florence + The Machine (UK), Diplo (US), Pet Shop Boys (UK), Flying Lotus (US), Years & Years (UK), Skepta (UK), Wiley (UK), Foxygen (US), Future Islands (US), Major Lazer (US), Seth Troxler (US), Róisín Murphy (IE), Run The Jewels (US), Todd Terje live (NO), The War on Drugs (US), Nile Rodgers and CHIC (US), Ride (UK, Lianne La Havas (UK) and DJ Tiga (CA) and more.

The day splits are available here.

Header photo credit: Jussi Hellsten